Pony Wars 2017: Muscle Car Madness

November 6, 2017 2:00 pm

Pony Wars is an event of pure muscle car madness, and 2017 was no exception! The event, held on October 21st in Valdosta, Georgia, saw a predominately Mustang and Camaro crowd. When it was all said and done, Mustang reigned supreme! As Steve Turner of Ford NXT reports, “…there were more Mustang participants than any other model. And, among the Mustangs, there were a wide variety of model years running down the track.” However, the event is open to all American-made cars, so there were a few tuned trucks, and even a Cadillac CTS-V, tearing it up on the strip.

For Steeda, the event serves as a way to connect with customers in a fun, action-filled environment. President, Dario Orlando, understands the importance of hearing customers’ feedback and hearing what they want to see come from our manufacturing plant. Orlando told Turner, “You have to get out here and experience it to see what products need to be developed, what needs to be expanded on, and to see what the customers want because we are here for the customers. That’s our number-one goal, is to make our customers happy with the best possible products.”

With better technology and engineering, each year we see more and more 8- and 9-second street cars, which blows us away. Racers get to test out their ponies in a competitive environment for a cheap $25. With competitors coming from all around the Southeast, Pony Wars continues to deliver an exciting, adrenaline-fueled day for all those involved! For full coverage of this year’s event, click here to read Ford NXT’s write-up.

Pony Wars 2017 Results:

Car Show

Best in Show: Clabe Hall, 1991 Mustang LX coupe

Best Ford: Doyle Stanley, 2008 Shelby GT500

Stick-Shift Class

Winner: Chris Crosby Termiantor-swap 2001 Mustang

Runner Up: James Jordan, Cobra

All Motor

Winner: Zane Owen, Fox Mustang

Runner Up: Bill Lee Jr., Palmetto Police Fox Mustang

True Street

Winner: Larry Albright, Fox Mustang

Runner Up: Tony Whetstone, Fox Mustang ’vert

Open Comp

Winner: Rusty Satterfield, 2003 Mustang Mach 1

Runner Up: Jody Scott, S10 Pickup